APL errors guide

Hello everyone,

As you might know I thought in doing an APL errors guide for Try APL. I spoke to Brian Becker and he has been helping me a lot and he has written some definitions to help me out.

This is how far I have got, you will notice that there are some errors missing and that’s because I don’t know how to create an example of that error or maybe because I don’t know much about that error. The errors missing are: Format Error, Hold Error, Internal Error and Nonce Error.
You will also notice that I didn’t write anything in Limit error background, and that’s because I don’t know much about it.

If you guys can also help me, and/or give me any suggestions it would be fantastic.

APL Errors Guide – Click here to download the file

APL Errors Guide Page 1

APL Errors Guide Page 1

APL Errors Guide Page 2

APL Errors Guide Page 2

Thank you,

Shaquil

4 thoughts on “APL errors guide

  1. > The errors missing are: Format Error, Hold Error, Internal Error and Nonce Error.
    > You will also notice that I didn’t write anything in Limit error background, and that’s
    > because I don’t know much about it.

    There is a manual called Dyalog APL Programmer’s Guide and Language Reference. Chapter 8 describes all the error messages.

    Format Error: an error in the argument(s) to ⎕fmt. For example: ‘q5’ ⎕fmt ⍳12

    Hold Error: quoting from the manual: an attempt is made to save a workspace using the system function ⎕save if any external arrays or component files are currently held (as a
    result of a prior use of the system function ⎕fhold).

    Internal Error: an internal consistency check has failed (supposed to be impossible 🙂

    Nonce Error: An expression is using a language feature which is not yet available for the nonce.

    Limit Error: An expression is syntactically and semantically correct but exceeds some sort of practical limit. For example: 2e9 2e9⍴3.4

    • Hi Roger.
      You are right. Just saw the book and it does have all the errors with examples and definitions.
      I will have a read about each of them and then add them to the APL errors guide for Try APL.
      Thank you for your help.

Leave a Reply

